Conducts research and collects data on the global history of labour, workers, and labour relations

HSN Organisation

The HSN is located at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. It is part of the IISH research department. Decisions regarding projects are made by the Steering Group.

Prof. dr. F.W.A. van Poppel, Netherlands Interdisciplinary Demographic Institute (NIDI), Utrecht University – Chair
Prof. dr. mr. C.C.J.H. Bijleveld, VU University Amsterdam, Director NSCR – Member
Prof. dr. I.A. van Gaalen, CBS, University of Amsterdam – Member
Prof. dr. A. F. Heerma van Voss, Utrecht University, General director Huygens ING – Member
Prof. dr. J. Kok, Radboud University Nijmegen, IISH – Member
Prof. dr. M.H.D. van Leeuwen, Utrecht University – Vice chair
Prof. dr. L.A.C.J. Lucassen, Leiden University, Research director International Institute of Social History (IISH) – Member
Prof. dr. W.A.F. Maas, Utrecht University, VU University Amsterdam – Secretary
Dr. F.R.M. Portrait, VU University Amsterdam – Treasurer
Dr. mr. P.G. Tassenaar, University of Groningen – Member

Executive secretary: Prof. dr. C.A. Mandemakers

Steering Group
The board of the HSN acts as a steering group and is the decision making body regarding HSN activities. Because the HSN is embedded within the IISH structure, the board includes Prof. dr. L.A.C.J. Lucassen, research director of the IISH. Prof. dr. K. Hofmeester is secretary of the Steering group. Prof. dr. C.A. Mandemakers, head of the HSN, plays an advisory role.

Scientific Council of Advice
Dr. P.K. Doorn, director DANS
Prof. dr. M.G.J. Duijvendak, University of Groningen
Prof. dr. H. van Dijk, Erasmus University Rotterdam, emeritus professor
Prof. dr. W.T.M. Frijhoff, VU University Amsterdam, emeritus professor
Prof. dr. H. Knippenberg, University of Amsterdam, emeritus professor
Prof. dr. P. T. van de Laar, Erasmus University Rotterdam
Prof. dr. C.H. Mulder, University of Groningen
Prof. dr. J. Plantenga, Utrecht University
Prof. dr. F. Stokman, University of Groningen, emeritus professor
Prof. dr. W.C. Ultee, Radboud University Nijmegen, emeritus professor
Prof. dr. J.L. van Zanden, Utrecht University

International Advisory Board
Prof. dr. H. Vézina, l'Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (UQAC)
Prof. dr. C. Campbell, University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
Prof. dr L. Dillon, Département de Démographie, Université de Montréal
Prof. dr. M. Dribe, Centre for Economic Demography, Lund University
Dr. D. Ramiro Fariñas, Instituto de Economía, Geografía y Demografía, Madrid

Click here for further information about the HSN-staff.